MileValue is part of an affiliate sales network and receives compensation for sending traffic to partner sites, such as CreditCards.com. This compensation may impact how and where links appear on this site. This site does not include all financial companies or all available financial offers. Terms apply to American Express benefits and offers. Enrollment may be required for select American Express benefits and offers. Visit americanexpress.com to learn more.

Note: Some of the offers mentioned below may have changed or are no longer be available. You can view current offers here.


2015 was a great year of travel for me, and hopefully for you too.

The year started in a hot tub in Chilean Patagonia, admiring a lake and snow-capped mountain in the twilight. (That far south, it isn’t pitch black at midnight.)

The year will end, for me, in about an hour sitting in Business Class in a Thai Dreamliner on the ground in Nagoya, Japan.

COUNTRIES VISITED (19)

Screen Shot 2015-12-31 at 8.42.39 PM

In chronological order:

  • Chile (3 days)
  • Argentina (5 months)
  • United States (7 weeks)
  • Panama (6 hours)
  • Cuba (6 days)
  • Colombia (2 weeks)
  • Spain (1 month)
  • Finland (1 week)
  • Estonia (1 week)
  • Latvia (1 week)
  • Lithuania (1 week)
  • Serbia (1 month)
  • Romania (3 weeks)
  • Greece (1 day)
  • Croatia (2 days)
  • Switzerland (3 days)
  • United Arab Emirates (2 days)
  • Peru (1 day)
  • Japan (5 days)

Twelve of these countries were new. My total is now 67 (counting England, Wales, Macau, Hong Kong, and China separately):

Screen Shot 2015-12-31 at 9.29.20 PM

PREMIUM AIRLINE CABINS FLOWN (6)

In chronological order (with links to trip reports):

My favorite flights were definitely the two in Emirates First Class on the A380, which I wish had been twice as long. All the other flights, I enjoyed getting some rest, but I was ready to get off at the end.

MILES FLOWN (73,348)

  • 73,348 miles flown over 39 segments
  • If I had flown all these as paid flights on one airline like United or Delta, I wouldn’t even have the highest mid-tier status!
  • Longest flight: Dubai to Houston in Emirates First Class on an A380 (8,168 miles)
  • Shortest flight: Honolulu to Kahului, Maui (100 miles)
  • Favorite flight: Dubai to Houston in Emirates First Class on an A380. 15 hours wasn’t long enough
  • Least favorite flight: Buenos Aires to Atlanta in Delta economy wins because it was my longest economy flight, but I even got some sleep on that one
Screen Shot 2015-12-31 at 8.34.41 PM
Lines Represent Itineraries Not Segments

FAVORITE MOMENTS OF TRAVEL

  • Winning the Tokyo Metro Underground Mysteries Game
  • Golfing on Christmas Day in 80 degree weather
  • Exploring otherworldly landscapes like the Cerro de Siete Colores near Salta and Jujuy, Argentina
    Screen Shot 2015-12-31 at 10.35.38 PM
  • Attending an Argentina/Brazil World Cup Qualifying Game with my dad
  • Shooting a crossbow at Trakai Castle in Lithuania
  • Going to the mid-Summer bonfire on an island near Helsinki
  • Hiking 36 km in one day in Madrid
  • Spelunking in Cuba
  • Watching sunset on Ka’anapali Beach on Maui
  • Hiking on a glaciar near El Calafate, Argentina
  • Finishing a four day trek in Torres del Paine National Park, Chile
  • Meeting new friends along the way
  • Visiting family

What were your travel stats for 2015? More importantly, what were your best travel memories from this year?

See also:

Earn 80,000 bonus points after you spend $4,000 on purchases in the first 3 months from account opening. Plus earn up to $50 in statement credits towards grocery store purchases within your first year of account opening.

Just getting started in the world of points and miles? The Chase Sapphire Preferred is the best card for you to start with.

With a bonus of 80,000 points after $4,000 spend in the first 3 months and 2x points earned on dining and travel spend, this card truly cannot be beat for getting started!


Editorial Disclaimer: The editorial content is not provided or commissioned by the credit card issuers. Opinions expressed here are the author’s alone, not those of the credit card issuers, and have not been reviewed, approved or otherwise endorsed by the credit card issuers.

The comments section below is not provided or commissioned by the bank advertiser. Responses have not been reviewed, approved, or otherwise endorsed by the bank advertiser. It is not the bank advertiser’s responsibility to ensure all questions are answered.