MileValue is part of an affiliate sales network and receives compensation for sending traffic to partner sites, such as CreditCards.com. This compensation may impact how and where links appear on this site. This site does not include all financial companies or all available financial offers. Terms apply to American Express benefits and offers. Enrollment may be required for select American Express benefits and offers. Visit americanexpress.com to learn more.

Note: Some of the offers mentioned below may have changed or are no longer be available. You can view current offers here.


Monday begins the fourth week of five weeks of discounted travel packages from the US Travel Association called Daily Getaways. Every weekday at 1 PM ET, a discounted travel package or packages will go on sale and will often sell out in a few minutes. Every weekend I’ll preview the deals for the next week, and the morning of interesting deals, I’ll have a full write up.

Here’s that overview of the fourth week of deals that start Monday. I see value on a few days, but I don’t plan to purchase anything.

Screen Shot 2015-04-10 at 6.24.41 PM

Monday April 13: Discounted Universal Orlando Packages

Screen Shot 2015-04-12 at 11.01.23 AM

I’m not going to use any of my finite brain power to analyze these deals. If Universal Orlando appeals to you generally, click the deals, read the terms and conditions, and pull the trigger.

Tuesday April 14: The Second Batch of Caesars Stays in Las Vegas

Screen Shot 2015-04-12 at 11.01.34 AM

These are inexpensive deals that range from $299 to $590. Two years ago I bought the Harrah’s package for $299. I got value from it because I would otherwise have purchased the included Buffet of Buffets passes at retail, meaning I got roundtrip limo transportation from the airport and my room for $199–not bad!

Wednesday April 15: Discounted Hertz Weekend and Weekly Rentals

Screen Shot 2015-04-12 at 11.04.05 AM

While the headline says you are buying a certain class of car for a certain time period, you are actually buying Hertz points that you can then redeem as you wish.

I know almost nothing about the Hertz loyalty program, so I can’t say what the best use of the points are once you purchase them. You can purchase all three available packages to amass quite a stash of points that you could then use for a lot of rental days.

Thursday April 16: Busch Gardens for $45, Seaworld for $49

Screen Shot 2015-04-12 at 11.04.14 AM

Friday April 17: 20% off Marriott Gift Cards

If you make a lot of Marriott stays, these are a no-brainer. If you use my cobbled together lodging strategy of airbnb, hotel points, hostels, and couchsurfing, there’s no need to buy these gift cards.

Bottom Line for Week 4

The star is probably the Marriott gift cards. The Las Vegas packages and Hertz points definitely can be very valuable for the right taste.

The discounted tickets to Busch Gardens, Seaworld, and Universal Orlando might be just what you’re looking for too.

Overall the week is a dud with no home run Daily Getaways that are a great deal for almost everyone.

 

Earn 60,000 bonus points after you spend $4,000 on purchases in the first 3 months from account opening. That's $750 when you redeem through Chase Ultimate Rewards®.

Just getting started in the world of points and miles? The Chase Sapphire Preferred is the best card for you to start with.

With a bonus of 60,000 points after $4,000 spend in the first 3 months, 5x points on travel booked through the Chase Travel Portal and 3x points on restaurants, streaming services, and online groceries (excluding Target, Walmart, and wholesale clubs), this card truly cannot be beat for getting started!


Editorial Disclaimer: The editorial content is not provided or commissioned by the credit card issuers. Opinions expressed here are the author’s alone, not those of the credit card issuers, and have not been reviewed, approved or otherwise endorsed by the credit card issuers.

The comments section below is not provided or commissioned by the bank advertiser. Responses have not been reviewed, approved, or otherwise endorsed by the bank advertiser. It is not the bank advertiser’s responsibility to ensure all questions are answered.